Internal Complaints Committee

Internal Complaints Committee


Through Office Memo D. No. 28/Gen., Dated: 12.04.2017 from Office of the Registrar (General Section), A.M.U., Aligarh.

In pursuance of the adoption and implementation of University Grant Commissions (Prevention, Prohibition & Redressal of Sexual Harassment of Women Employees and Students in Higher Educational Institution) Regulation 2015 vide L.D. NO. (C) 4060 dated Jan 18, 2017 and L.D. No. (C)3936 dated Jan. 05, 2017, the Vice Chancellor on behalf of Executive Councils and in accordance with Rule 4 of the said regulation has constituted Internal Complaints Committee as:-

A Presiding Officer who shall be a women faculty member employed at senior level (not below a Professor in case of a university and not below an Associate Professor or Reader in case of a college) at the educational institution, nominated by the Executive Authority;

Prof, Shaheena Tarannum, Dept. Of English, Presiding Officer Rule 04 (a) Under Professor Category

Two faculty members and two non-teaching employees, preferably committed to the cause of women or who have had experience in social work or have legal knowledge, nominated by the Executive Authority;      

             Prof. Sameena Khan, Dept. Of English

Dr. Juhi Gupta, centre of Women’s Studies, Rule 04 (b) under teaching category

Dr. Farha Ashhar , CMO, UHS,

Mrs. Shaista Bedar, Asstt. Library, Rule04 (b) under non-teaching category

Three students, if the matter involves students, who shall be enrolled at the undergraduate, Master’s and Research Scholar levels will be nominated by the AMU Students’ Union Executive. In event where there is no Union, the nomination shall be done by the Dean Students Welfare, AMU, , NRSC

Ms. Ghazala Ahmad, GF-1625, NRSC, BSW, Ms. Nida Khan, MA (Sociology) GI-8462, IVth Semister, Ms. Marya Khan, Ph.D. Sociology, GE-8372, S.N. Hall, Rule04 (b) under student category

One member from amongst non-government organizations or association committed to the cause of women or person familiar with the issues relating to sexual harassment, nominated by the Executive Authority.                                                  Ms. Sabiha Lari, Ismat Society, Rule04 (b) under NGO category

The term of the office of the members of ICC shall be for a period of three years and one third members of the ICC may be changed every year. This is in supersession of earlier rule and procedure of the committee against sexual harassment and for gender sensitization (CASHFGS) and office Memo No. 309/Gen, Dated 06.08.2016.

Name and Tenure of Chairperson/ Presiding Officer of Internal Complaints Committee (ICC) from 2017 to till date

S. No.





Prof. Shaheena Tarannum

Presiding Officer, ICC

Internal Complaints Committee

Dept. of English

12.04.2017 to 13.04.2020


Prof. Roomana N. Siddiqui

Presiding Officer, ICC

Internal Complaints Committee

Dept. of Psychology

13.04.2020 to



Prof. Seema Hakim

Presiding Officer, ICC

Internal Complaints Committee

Dept. of Obstetrics & Gynecology

03.12.2020  to Till Date