Sir Syed Hall (South)

Sir Syed Hall (South)



          Sir Syed's dream of uplifting the Muslim community in the field of Education was substantially realized when Lord Lytton laid the foundation stone of MAO College in 1877. Later his efforts bore fruits when MAO College was raised to the status of a University in 1920.

          The premises of Sir Syed Hall are engraved on the hearts of Muslims in India. In Sir Syed Hall (South) complex many heritage buildings are included such as Strachey Hall, Mushtaq Manzil, Asman Manzil, Nizam Museum and Lytton Library. Besides these buildings, the famous Victoria Gate (1883) is situated in the Southern direction of the Hall and Jama Masjid is in the North-West direction.

          Historically AMU is a residential University. Sir Syed Hall is the oldest Hall of the University. In its character, it differs from other halls of residence. In 1983 due to administrative reasons, Sir Syed Hall was bifurcated into two halls and one portion was named Sir Syed Hall (South). There are 107 penta-seated rooms in the hall consisting of 6 hostels, in which 515 students are residing. This hall is an example of harmonious corporate living in the University where students each with their own diverse language and culture live together.

Following dignitaries have served this prestigious Hall as Provosts

Name of the Provost


Prof. Nafees Ahmad

13.12.1983 to 06.06.1984

Prof. M. Tajuddin Taj Shamsi

07.06.1984 to 31.08.1988

Prof. Mohammad Ajmal

01.09.1988 to 02.12.1990

Prof. Mukhtar Ahmad

03.12.1990 to 12.04.1992

Prof. Mohammad Haroon

13.04.1992 to 05.08.1993

Prof. Syed M. Zainuddin

06.08.1993 to 06.08.1994

Prof. Ali Mohammad

08.08.1994 to 06.12.1995

Prof. Qazi Afzal Husain

07.12.1995 to 01.10.1996

Prof. Rahimullah Khan

02.10.1996 to 11.17.2000

Dr. Nabi Ahmad

12.07.2000 to 11.07.2002

Prof. M. Jamal Siddiqui

11.07.2002 to 10.07.2004

Prof. Qazi Jamal Husain

11.07.2004 to 10.07.2006

Prof. Ali Mohammad

11.07.2006 to 13.07.2007

Prof. Shamsul Haque Siddiqui

13.07.2007 to 20.06.2009

Prof. Anis Ahmad Ansari

21.06.2009 to 10.08.2011

Dr. Abdul Latif

11.08.2011 to 16.06.2012

Prof. Tajuddin

17.06.2012 to 07.04.2015

Prof. Muhammad Ismail

08.04.2015 to 12.06.2017

Prof. Badrudduja Khan

13.06.2017 to Cont.