Department of Anaesthesiology

Department of Anaesthesiology

Dept. data last updated on :13/03/2023


The Department of Anaesthesiology & Critical Care is dedicated to develop and maintain the department into an epitome of education, research and state of art clinical work in relation to patient care, where medical students are groomed into professionals with social and clinical sensibility and research-oriented mindset.


  • To train and prepare the students as excellent peri-operative physicians, who will be able to provide comprehensive health care to community.
  • To develop and build up work culture among students on an individual basis, able to provide the best outcome even in high-risk patients
  • To sensitize and nurture the aptitude for research among undergraduate and postgraduate medical students.


Was a part of dept. of Surgery since 1962

Established as a separate department in Nov 1981

Founder Chairperson: Prof Tausifa Zameer Khan (1981-1993)


Former Chairpersons of the dept:

Prof Abdul Shakoor: Chairperson 1993-1996,

Prof M Masood Hasan Siddiqui: Chairperson 1996 -99, 2002- 03, 2006 - 09

Prof Shahjahan Bano: Chairperson 1999 -2000, 2003 -06, 2009 -12

Prof Shahla Haleem: Chairperson 2012 -15

Prof Abdul Quadir: Chairperson 2015 -18

Prof S Moied Ahmed: 
2018- 21

Present Chairperson: Prof Qazi Ehsan Ali: From Feb 2021 till date


No. of Faculties: 15

Faculties with Specialised training: Critical Care Medicine, Cardiac Anaesthesia, Neuro-anasethesia, Paediatric anaesthesia, Pain management, Trauma management


Awards received by the faculties: Commonwealth Fellowship, Best Academician and Researcher, Dr Bhoj Raj award for best review article in IJA, ISA Presidents appreciation award for framing Difficult Airway module & ISA CPR guidelines, Certificate of appreciation from IMPACT INDIA FOUNDATION, National Academy of Indian Scientist Assistance


Courses run by the Dept: MD, DAA


No. of PG Students in three years: 19 / year (MD) : 57


Teaching program in the Dept (8.00 am - 9.00 am): 5 days a week, Mon - Seminar; Tue -Clinical scenario; Wed- Journal & drugs / equipment, Thurs- faculty CCM, Sat -Case presentation/Mortality /morbidity


Teaching facilities in the dept: Smart class, Basic and advanced manikins for CPR training, Paediatric CPR training manikins, Airway management Trainers, Lumbar epidural and Lumbar puncture trainers,


Services delivered by the Dept (Clinical Material): Anaesthesia services to more than 12000-14000 patients per year, 12 bedded Intensive care unit, Pain management, Neuro anaesthesia, Cardiac anaesthesia, Paediatric anaesthesia, Anaesthesia for plastic and reconstructive surgery, GI surgery, Orthopedic surgery, Gynaecological & Obstetrical surgery, Ophthalmic surgery, ENT surgery, Dental Surgery, Monitored anaesthesia Care for CT scan, MRI, Code blue for CPR, Attends Distress call


All Operation Theatre equipped with Workstation, Multichannel monitor, PNS, Syringe pumps, Bronchoscopes, Crash Cart, Difficult Airway Cart with various types of video laryngoscopes


Academic meet organised by the Dept: FCCS course, ACLS course, CME on Sepsis, CCAR course, ETAC course, Workshop on Mechanical Ventilation & Haemodynamic monitoring, Extension lectures by Alumni, Resource persons, ISACON UP State Chapter, USG workshop, Workshop on Interventional Pain management,


Outreach services: Difficult Airway workshop, Mechanical Ventilation, ABGA workshop, CPR Training


Journals published: Central Journal Of ISA (CJISA),


Courses developed: Emergency Trauma Airway Course (ETAC), Comprehensive Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CCAR)


Land mark publications by the department:

1. Nerve Stimulator Evoked Motor Response Predicting a Successful Supraclavicular Brachial Plexus Block

2. Emergency management of snake bite: Pearls from literature,

3. Difficult Airway Guidelines,

4. ISA CPR guidelines,

5. Comparison of the Airtraq and McCoy laryngoscopes using a rigid neck collar in patients with simulated difficult laryngoscopy

6. A comparative study of the efficacy of Pediatric Airtraq with conventional laryngoscope in children.

7. A remedy for difficult Fiberoptic intubation.


Society City branch Head office: ISA city branch, AIDDA city branch


Recognised/Reputed Alumni of the department:

Prof Rashid M Khan

Dr Wasil Ali Sabzposh

Dr Tariq Ali

Dr Poonam Malhotra

Dr Jytosna Punj

Dr Harsh Sapra

Dr Jasbir Chabra

Dr Wasim ul Huda

Dr Danish Siddiqui

Dr Tazeen Beg

Dr Praveen Maheswari

Dr Parul Maheshwari

Dr Sabihul Islam

Dr Jyotishla Pal

Dr Muzammil Shafi