Department of Electrical Engineering

About the Department

Dept. data last updated on :21/10/2021

The department of Electrical Engineering was established in 1935 with an intake of 20 students and first graduate program started in 1940. A new phase of major developments in the department started during third five-year plan when the intake was raised to 90. Currently department is offering undergraduate, post graduate and doctorate programmes in various specialized disciplines of electrical engineering.  Presently the total intake of B.Tech. programme is 60 and M. Tech programme is 54. A new M.Tech. programme  in "Solar and Renewable Energy", with an intake of 10 students has been recently started by the department.  The department now runs one B.Tech and four M.Tech. programmes. The thrust areas of department are Power System, Power Electronics, Control and High Voltage Engineering.

The faculty members have published significant number of research articles in International Journals, IEEE Transactions and in the Proceedings of various International and National Seminars, Conferences, Symposia and Workshops. The faculty members have also published several textbooks and prepared and other Teaching Aids. Many research projects sponsored by A.I.C.T.E, U.G.C., D.S.T. ,C.S.T.(U.P.) have been successfully completed. The first Ph.D. in the Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Aligarh Muslim University was produced by this department in 1977 and since then many students have completed their Ph.D. degree from the department. Further, the Faculty members of the EED have till date, published more than 1000 research papers. The Department has organized one IEEE international conference  in 2019. In the last five years many Workshops/Seminar/Training Programs have been successfully organized for young engineers, academicians and scientists. Many faculty members have chaired technical session of different National and International meets and have also been the members of various technical committees in the country. 

The department of Electrical Engineering has sanctioned strength of 27 faculty members and most faculty members hold doctorate from reputed institutes like IISc Bangalore, University of Oxford, IIT Delhi, IIT Roorkee, NTU Singapore to name a few. Faculty members have specialization in diverse fields of Electrical Engineering such as Power systems, Electrical Machines, Electrical Drives, High Voltage Engineering, Control systems, Instrumentation, Biomedical Engineering, Hybrid Electric Vehicles and Renewable sources of Energy.





To become an internationally acclaimed department for advancement of knowledge and technologies in the field of Electrical Engineering.





1. To become an internationally leading department for higher learning.

2. To build upon the culture and values of universal science and contemporary education.

3. To be a center of research and education generating knowledge and technologies which lay ground work in

shaping the future in the field of Electrical Engineering.

4. To develop collaboration with industries, R&D organizations and government agencies and actively participate in

conferences, technical and community activities.



Please find the departmental brochure here for a quick review: