Department of Psychology

About the Department

Dept. data last updated on :22/09/2021

The Department of Psychology is one of the oldest departments of the university. Initially located in the department of Philosophy it became an independent department in 1964. It was under the leadership of Prof. Anwar Ansari that the department marched ahead with its scientific temperament and in the days to come the department assimilated the contemporary with the traditional knowledge. Initially, the areas of social psychology, personality, clinical psychology, educational psychology, industrial psychology, and experimental psychology came to the fore and during the course of time new areas of humanistic psychology, health psychology and spiritual psychology also got incorporated in the curriculum.

The mission of the department is to contribute meaningfully to the knowledge pool and to apply this knowledge for the betterment of society.

It envisions nurturing young talents and training them in the rigors of the scientific discipline. It further aims to develop innovative human resource programs and service designed to nourish the spiritual, intellectual, emotional, physical and social well-being of the individual.

The research profile of the department is quite impressive. Researches have been conducted in the area of personality and social psychology along with Organizational Behavior, Clinical Psychology, Positive Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Health Psychology, and Spiritual Psychology. Academic deliberations on key issues are held regularly and conferences and workshops are organized to disseminate and exchange information. In the year 2012 University Grants Commission, New Delhi provided assistance to the department of psychology at the level of DRS-1 for five years (01-04-2012 to 31-03-2017) under the Special Assistance Programme (SAP) in the thrust areas of Spiritual Psychology, Well-Being and Human Development.

The Alumni of this department are spread across USA, Saudi Arabia, UK, Italy, Australia, Germany, Iran, Bahrain, Qatar, Jordan, Nigeria, Kenya, Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.