Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit

Interdisciplinary Biotechnology Unit

Dept. data last updated on :25/01/2023

IBU was established by ordinance No. C/1808/Reg dated 3.1.1985 to function as a semi autonomous institution and carry out interdisciplinary teaching and research in biotechnology. Since the year 1990 the M.Sc. Biotechnology programme is supported by the Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Ministry of Science & Technology. The DBT also supports the Distributed Information Sub-Centre (DISC) attached to the Unit.


The University admits students to the M.Sc. Biotechnology course through an All India Entrance Test. The students are offered courses in various disciplines of modern biology, biotechnology, lab courses, project work and seminar lectures.


Presently the faculty of IBU comprises 3 Professor (One post vacant) , 1 Associate Professor (Vacant), 1 Assistant Professor and 1 Assistant Professo in DBT BUILDER PROGRAM. IBU currently receives research funding from various agencies including DBT, DST, CSIR, UGC, DST-FIST, DBT-BUILDER, DST-PURSE and AYUSH. Since the year 2001, the Unit has been recognized by the Department of Science and Technology under its FIST programme and the programme currently is in the second phase . The UGC is funding IBU under the SAP (DRS-I &II) w.e.f. 2007.


Currently there are 29 research scholars working in the Unit for their M.Phil/Ph.D. The existing infrastructure of the Unit offers facilities for research in the areas of Molecular Biology, Cellular Immunology/Immunochemistry, Membrane Biology/ Biotechnology, Enzyme Engineering, Structure and Function of Macromolecules and Drug Targeting.