Department of Philosophy


Dept. data last updated on :01/03/2023

Since the establishment of the Aligarh Muslim University in 1920, the Department of Philosophy has been engaged in research in varied areas of philosophy. The department has the distinction of being the only Department in India catering to the three streams of thought, viz Islamic Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, and Western Philosophy. The Department offers the three streams at the UG and PG levels and for pre-Doctoral, Doctoral and Post-Doctoral research. A number of Post-doctoral Fellows are the recipients of fellowships granted by the different government agencies, such as the University Grants Commission (UGC), Indian Council of Philosophical Research (ICPR), Radhakrishnan Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship, Maulana Azad Fellowship, etc.

The Department has shown academic excellence in various fields of Philosophy. It has to its credit the publication of twenty books in the field of Islamic Philosophy alone, apart from scholarly books and articles published nationally and internationally, in all three streams. The Department has had more than 90 research scholars, including foreign students, who have been awarded PhD degrees in Metaphysics, Epistemology, Comparative Religion, Ethics, Political Philosophy, Social Philosophy, Islamic Philosophy, Iqbaliyyat, Existentialism, Phenomenology, Feminist Philosophy, Analytic Philosophy, Applied Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion, etc. Presently, there are about thirty-five research scholars enrolled and actively pursuing research in the Department.

The Department has organized many national and international seminars on contemporary and classical issues. The Department publishes an annual research journal of Islamic Philosophy, 'Aligarh Journal of Islamic Philosophy', which attracts international contributions from acknowledged academicians and researchers in the field. Recently the Department resolved to publish another journal, 'Aligarh Journal of Philosophy', with research articles from all fields of Philosophy. The first issue has already been brought out.

Some of the eminent faculty members of the Department include Maulana Shibli Naumani, Professor Thomas Arnold, Professor Zafarul Hasan, Professor M.M. Sharief, Professor M. Ummaruddin, Professor Zafar Ahmad Siddiqui, Professor Ishrat Husain Enwer, Prof. Jamal Khwaja, Prof. Waheed Akhtar, Dr Noor Nabi, etc.


The Department of Philosophy is committed to enhancing its reputation as a centre of world-class teaching and research. It carries out its three streams equally: Indian Philosophy, Islamic Philosophy and Western Philosophy. This Department is recognized for its innovation, excellence and discovery. It attracts the students and staff worldwide for sustainable development of society, country and better future for humanity.


The Department aspires Value-Education; the highest professional and academic standards in personal development and satisfaction offered to our students and staff. We are committed to promoting excellence in teaching and research, teamwork based on respect, trust and integrity, and innovation to promote human values for all. We also emphasize the necessity of systematic, critical, logical, ethical and rational inter-faith thinking and practices among students and teachers.