Department of Plastic Surgery

Plastic Surgery

Dept. data last updated on :28/06/2022


Prof. (Dr.) Masood Hasan Khan


Dr. Masood Hasan Khan after completing MS in Plastic Surgery in January 1968 from K.G. Medical College Lucknow joined back in the Department of Surgery at J. N. Medical College, Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh.

In July 1973, Dr. Masood Hasan Khan was awarded Common Wealth Medical Fellowship for higher training in U.K. in Plastic and Hand surgery for one year. During his stay in England he visited Cannisburg Hospital in Glasgow and worked with Mr. D.A.C. Reid in Sheffield for Hand injury.

Independent unit of Plastic Surgery was established in the department of surgery and Dr. Masood Hasan Khan was appointed Professor of Plastic Surgery in September 1979. After the establishment of a full-fledged unit sanctioned by the U.G.C. on 14th September, 1977 it was decided to start the M.Ch. (Plastic Surgery) course, in the Department of Surgery.

The academic ordinance for M.Ch. (Plastic Surgery) was framed according to the recommendations of Medical Council of India and passed by the Board of Studies, Faculty of Medicine, Academic Council and by the Executive Council at its meeting held on 12, 13, 14th July 1980. The academic ordinance for M.Ch. (Plastic Surgery) was added in chapter LXXIV 5 (a) of Aligarh Muslim University.

Dr. L. M. Bariar was appointed as lecturer in Plastic Surgery In April 1983.

MCI inspector Prof. S. L. Mandal visited the unit of Plastic Surgery at J. N. Medical College AMU Aligarh on 14/15 January 1990 and recommended that the Plastic Surgery unit be allowed post graduate teaching (M.Ch.) in Plastic Surgery as it satisfies the requirements.

Dr. Arshad Hafeez Khan was the first to join the M.Ch. course (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery) in the institution from July 03, 1989. The intake was one M.Ch seat per year. Later in 2002 the M.Ch. seat intake was increased to 2 per year and in 2012 to 4 seats per year through all India entrance test.

Department of Plastic Surgery is the superspeciality department in the faculty of medicine conducting a M.C.I. recognized course in M.Ch., Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. The intake is through an all India entrance test with four seats per year from the academic session 2013-2014. M.Ch. (Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery) course is being conducted since 1989 and so far 50 candidates have been awarded the M.Ch. degree by the university. Plastic Surgery was established as a separate department in September 2005. At present the Department has five faculty members.

1) Prof. Arshad Hafeez Khan -- Professor & Chairman

2) Prof. Mohd. Yaseen -- Professor 

3) Prof. Imran Ahmad  -- Professor

4) Dr. M. Fahud Khurram -- Associate Professor

5) Dr. Sheikh Sarfraz Ali -- Assistant Professor 

 Academic activities in the department are held five days a week, involving teachers & residents with Seminars, Journal club, Case presentation/planning sessions and mortality/morbidity meetings. Plastic Surgery runs OPD six days in a week. Besides elective patients in the OPD, it entertains emergencies round the clock, like- burns, road traffic accidents/assaults, faciomaxillary trauma and hand injuries. It has 50 beds for indoor admitted patients out of which eight beds are exclusively meant for major burns patients. It has an elective operation theater with two tables running six days a week and one minor O.T. in OPD block running six days a week. Carl-Zeiss operating microscope is available in the elective OT for microsurgery. Department is in the process of establishing a microsurgery lab.

Our vision is to provide an atmosphere in which excellence in health care, education and research can continue.

Our mission is to contribute towards improving the quality of life of individuals by providing cost effective quality medical care and for our residents to learn the art and craft of Plastic Surgery.



   Infrastructure / Facilities / Labs in the Department of Plastic Surgery