Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Arts

Faculty of Arts


Dedicated to high quality education in arts and humanities, the Faculty of Arts is engaged in policy and planning as well as academic leadership of all the departments under its aegis. The Faculty has a rich legacy which is rooted in composite cultural paradigms and is committed to the state-of-the-art research in frontier areas of knowledge which is relevant to regional and global needs.


  • To encourage and facilitate an innovative pedagogy.

  • To create productive and progressive atmosphere for holistic personality development of students.

  • To engage in inter- and multi-disciplinary studies.

  • To sharpen critical thinking and enhance creative potentials through curricular, co-curricular and extra-curricular activities.

  • To develop conducive atmosphere for outreach and extension activities.

  • To organize placement meetings, career-oriented workshops and counseling programs.

  • To strengthen the values of nation-building, social-harmony, community welfare, heritage preservation and to promote sensitivity to cultural and linguistic diversity.

The Faculty system was introduced in January 1944 during the Vice Chancellorship of Dr Zia-ud-din Ahmad (1941 to 1947) and during this time, four faculties namely Theology, Arts, Science and Engineering were established.


The Faculty of Arts, centrally located on the campus, is one of the faculties of the Aligarh Muslim University comprising 10 departments: Arabic, English, Fine Arts, Hindi, Linguistics, Modern Indian Languages, Persian, Philosophy, Sanskrit and Urdu. The faculty offers a number of courses in different languages in the respective departments.


The Faculty of Arts offers different programs in respective departments which include:

  • Bachelor of Arts: three years honors program 

  • Master of Arts: two years program  

  • Research programs: Ph.D. and Post-doctorate

  • A number of part-time and full-time Diploma/Certificate courses


The faculty has Wi-Fi, lift for Persons with Disabilities and a library in every department.


Jadal: Aligarh Critical Humanities Collective is a discussion forum instituted in November 2022 by the Dean, Faculty of Arts with a view to promote and foster sustained and scholarly dialogue, discussion and debate among the faculty and students of the various departments and centres of study belonging to the Faculty of Arts, AMU.

In 2013, the department of Fine Arts was ranked 10th in India's Best Fine Arts colleges listed by India Today.

The Department of English, the oldest department of the university, dates back from the days of Muhammadan Anglo Oriental College- the predecessor of Aligarh Muslim University.

Named after Sir Walter Raleigh, who taught at Mohammadan Anglo- Oriental College from 1885 to 1887 and later became the first professor of English at the University of Oxford, the Raleigh Literary Society of the Department of English organizes various literary events on a regular basis.

Alumni and Faculty

Philosopher Syed Zafarul Hasan was a professor of Philosophy and had been the dean of the faculty of Arts.